Johnson Controls International plc
JCI Industrials Building Products & Equipment
Johnson Controls International plc’s revenue for fiscal 2025 (year ended September 2025) was $23.6 billion, up 2.81% from fiscal 2024. In the quarter to June 2026, revenue grew 9.29%, EPS grew 15.0%, free cash flow grew 72.3% and total debt fell 7.95%, each against the same quarter a year earlier. Member of the S&P 500; dividend growth for ten consecutive years, revenue growth for three; insiders bought in the last twelve months.
Follow JCI
Johnson Controls International plc (JCI) Altman Z-score
Johnson Controls International plc's Altman Z-score for fiscal 2025 cannot be worked out: retained earnings not reported.
Altman Z-score, annual
Embed this chart
Annual newest first
| Period | Altman Z-score | Change (points) |
|---|---|---|
| FY2024 | 1.93 | 0.37 |
| FY2023 | 1.56 | 0.09 |
| FY2022 | 1.47 | (0.65) |
| FY2021 | 2.13 | 0.54 |
| FY2020 | 1.59 | (0.40) |
| FY2019 | 1.98 | 0.44 |
| FY2018 | 1.54 | 0.12 |
| FY2017 | 1.43 | 0.33 |
| FY2016 | 1.10 | (0.84) |
| FY2015 | 1.93 | — |
How fiscal 2025’s score is made up
| Component | This year | Year before | Result | Points |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Working capital / total assets | (0.02) | — | −0.02 | |
| Retained earnings / total assets | — | — | n/a | — |
| EBIT / total assets | 0.06 | — | 0.20 | |
| Market value of equity / total liabilities | 2.87 | — | 1.72 | |
| Sales / total assets | 0.62 | — | 0.62 | |
| Altman Z-score | n/a — retained earnings not reported | — | ||
| Z″ Variant for non-manufacturing and asset-light companies (drops the sales/assets term, uses book equity) | n/a — retained earnings not reported | — | ||
How the Altman Z-score works
Z = 1.2 × working capital ÷ total assets + 1.4 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 3.3 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 0.6 × market value of equity ÷ total liabilities + 1.0 × revenue ÷ total assets (Altman, 1968). The market value of equity is the close on the last trading day of the fiscal year times weighted basic shares.
Z″ = 6.56 × working capital ÷ total assets + 3.26 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 6.72 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 1.05 × book equity ÷ total liabilities (Altman, Hartzell and Peck, 1995), the variant for non-manufacturing and asset-light companies.
| Zone | Z | Z″ |
|---|---|---|
| Safe zone | above 2.99 | above 2.60 |
| Grey zone | 1.81–2.99 | 1.10–2.60 |
| Distress zone | below 1.81 | below 1.10 |
Not worked out for banks, insurers and REITs, whose balance sheets the model does not describe, nor when a figure is missing or there is no share price in the week to the fiscal year end.
Altman Z-score against peers
| Company | Altman Z-score |
|---|---|
| LII Lennox International, Inc. compare | 7.5× |
| TT Trane Technologies plc compare | 6.4× |
| SPXC SPX Technologies, Inc. compare | 5.6× |
| CSL Carlisle Companies Incorporated compare | 5.1× |
| WMS Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc. compare | 4.3× |
| MAS Masco Corporation compare | 3.9× |
| CARR Carrier Global Corporation compare | 2.5× |
| OC Owens Corning Inc compare | 2.0× |
| JCI Johnson Controls International plc | — |
What Altman Z-score is
The Altman Z-Score weighs working capital, retained earnings, operating profit, market value and sales against assets and debts to gauge the risk of distress.
1.2 × working capital ÷ total assets + 1.4 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 3.3 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 0.6 × market value of equity ÷ total liabilities + 1.0 × revenue ÷ total assets
More on JCI
- Revenue
- Net income
- EPS (diluted)
- EBITDA
- Free cash flow
- Operating cash flow
- Gross margin
- Operating margin
- Net margin
- Free cash flow margin
- P/E ratio
- P/S ratio
- P/B ratio
- Price to free cash flow
- EV/EBITDA
- EV/Sales
- EV/FCF
- Return on equity
- Return on assets
- Return on invested capital
- Debt to equity
- Current ratio
- Total debt
- Shares outstanding
- Book value per share
- Revenue growth
- Piotroski F-score
- Beneish M-score
- The full statement