AutoZone, Inc.
AZO Consumer Cyclical Auto Parts
AutoZone, Inc.’s revenue for fiscal 2026 (year ended August 2026) was $20.3 billion, up 7.39% from fiscal 2025. In the quarter to August 2026, revenue grew 5.64%, EPS grew 14.3%, free cash flow grew 7.88% and total debt rose 3.17%, each against the same quarter a year earlier. Member of the S&P 500; revenue growth for ten consecutive years, operating cash flow growth for three; insiders bought in the last twelve months.
Follow AZO
AutoZone, Inc. (AZO) Piotroski F-score
AutoZone, Inc.'s Piotroski F-score for fiscal 2026 cannot be worked out: operating cash flow not reported.
Piotroski F-score, annual
Embed this chart
Annual newest first
| Period | Piotroski F-score | Change (points) |
|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 6 | 0.00 |
| FY2024 | 6 | 0.00 |
| FY2023 | 6 | 0.00 |
| FY2022 | 6 | 0.00 |
| FY2021 | 6 | 0.00 |
| FY2020 | 6 | (1.00) |
| FY2019 | 7 | 0.00 |
| FY2018 | 7 | 1.00 |
| FY2017 | 6 | — |
How fiscal 2026’s score is made up
| Test | This year | Year before | Result | Points |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Positive return on assets | 12.55% | 13.68% | Pass | 1 |
| Positive operating cash flow | — | 3.12b | n/a | — |
| Rising return on assets | 12.55% | 13.68% | Fail | 0 |
| Cash flow above net income | — | 619.09m | n/a | — |
| Falling long-term leverage | 0.44 | 0.48 | Pass | 1 |
| Rising current ratio | 0.90 | 0.88 | Pass | 1 |
| No new shares issued | 16,481,000 | 16,789,000 | Pass | 1 |
| Rising gross margin | 52.34% | 52.62% | Fail | 0 |
| Rising asset turnover | 0.99 | 1.04 | Fail | 0 |
| Piotroski F-score | n/a — operating cash flow not reported | — | ||
How the Piotroski F-score works
One point for each of nine tests, this fiscal year against the one before: positive return on assets, positive operating cash flow, rising return on assets, cash flow above net income, falling long-term leverage, a rising current ratio, no new shares issued, a rising gross margin and rising asset turnover. The ratios are the ones on this site, so each can be checked.
Joseph Piotroski (2000) called 8–9 high and 0–1 low; reading it in three bands is the common convention:
| 7–9 | Strong — most fundamentals improved |
|---|---|
| 4–6 | Mixed |
| 0–3 | Weak — most fundamentals deteriorated |
Where this differs from the paper: return on assets is on average rather than beginning-of-year assets, and weighted basic shares stand in for shares issued. The score is shown only when all nine tests can be worked out, which takes three fiscal years; banks and insurers, which report no current assets or gross profit, have none.
Piotroski F-score against peers
| Company | Piotroski F-score |
|---|---|
| ALV Autoliv, Inc. compare | 8 |
| APTV Aptiv PLC compare | 8 |
| ORLY O'Reilly Automotive, Inc. compare | 7 |
| BWA BorgWarner Inc. compare | 6 |
| ALSN Allison Transmission Holdings, Inc. compare | 6 |
| GPC Genuine Parts Company compare | 6 |
| MOD Modine Manufacturing Company compare | 5 |
| AZO AutoZone, Inc. | — |
| AUR Aurora Innovation, Inc. compare | — |
What Piotroski F-score is
The Piotroski F-Score tells an investor how many signs of improving profitability, funding and efficiency a company shows against a year earlier.
One point for each of nine tests against a year earlier: positive return on assets, positive operating cash flow, rising return on assets, cash flow above net income, falling long-term leverage, rising current ratio, no new shares issued, rising gross margin, and rising asset turnover
More on AZO
- Revenue
- Net income
- EPS (diluted)
- EBITDA
- Free cash flow
- Operating cash flow
- Gross margin
- Operating margin
- Net margin
- Free cash flow margin
- P/E ratio
- P/S ratio
- P/B ratio
- Price to free cash flow
- EV/EBITDA
- EV/Sales
- EV/FCF
- Return on equity
- Return on assets
- Return on invested capital
- Debt to equity
- Current ratio
- Total debt
- Shares outstanding
- Book value per share
- Revenue growth
- The full statement