AutoZone, Inc.
AZO Consumer Cyclical Auto Parts
AutoZone, Inc.’s revenue for fiscal 2026 (year ended August 2026) was $20.3 billion, up 7.39% from fiscal 2025. In the quarter to August 2026, revenue grew 5.64%, EPS grew 14.3%, free cash flow grew 7.88% and total debt rose 3.17%, each against the same quarter a year earlier. Member of the S&P 500; revenue growth for ten consecutive years, operating cash flow growth for three; insiders bought in the last twelve months.
Follow AZO
AutoZone, Inc. (AZO) Altman Z-score
AutoZone, Inc.'s Altman Z-score for fiscal 2026 cannot be worked out: retained earnings not reported.
Altman Z-score, annual
Embed this chart
Annual newest first
| Period | Altman Z-score | Change (points) |
|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 3.09 | 0.24 |
| FY2024 | 2.85 | 0.05 |
| FY2023 | 2.80 | (0.05) |
| FY2022 | 2.85 | 0.03 |
| FY2021 | 2.82 | 0.39 |
| FY2020 | 2.44 | (0.68) |
| FY2019 | 3.12 | 0.37 |
| FY2018 | 2.75 | 0.26 |
| FY2017 | 2.49 | (0.49) |
| FY2016 | 2.98 | (0.10) |
How fiscal 2026’s score is made up
| Component | This year | Year before | Result | Points |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Working capital / total assets | (0.05) | — | −0.06 | |
| Retained earnings / total assets | — | — | n/a | — |
| EBIT / total assets | 0.17 | — | 0.57 | |
| Market value of equity / total liabilities | 2.04 | — | 1.23 | |
| Sales / total assets | 0.94 | — | 0.94 | |
| Altman Z-score | n/a — retained earnings not reported | — | ||
| Z″ Variant for non-manufacturing and asset-light companies (drops the sales/assets term, uses book equity) | n/a — retained earnings not reported | — | ||
How the Altman Z-score works
Z = 1.2 × working capital ÷ total assets + 1.4 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 3.3 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 0.6 × market value of equity ÷ total liabilities + 1.0 × revenue ÷ total assets (Altman, 1968). The market value of equity is the close on the last trading day of the fiscal year times weighted basic shares.
Z″ = 6.56 × working capital ÷ total assets + 3.26 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 6.72 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 1.05 × book equity ÷ total liabilities (Altman, Hartzell and Peck, 1995), the variant for non-manufacturing and asset-light companies.
| Zone | Z | Z″ |
|---|---|---|
| Safe zone | above 2.99 | above 2.60 |
| Grey zone | 1.81–2.99 | 1.10–2.60 |
| Distress zone | below 1.81 | below 1.10 |
Not worked out for banks, insurers and REITs, whose balance sheets the model does not describe, nor when a figure is missing or there is no share price in the week to the fiscal year end.
Altman Z-score against peers
| Company | Altman Z-score |
|---|---|
| AUR Aurora Innovation, Inc. compare | 17.1× |
| MOD Modine Manufacturing Company compare | 7.1× |
| ORLY O'Reilly Automotive, Inc. compare | 4.1× |
| ALV Autoliv, Inc. compare | 3.0× |
| BWA BorgWarner Inc. compare | 2.9× |
| ALSN Allison Transmission Holdings, Inc. compare | 2.5× |
| APTV Aptiv PLC compare | 2.3× |
| GPC Genuine Parts Company compare | 2.3× |
| AZO AutoZone, Inc. | — |
What Altman Z-score is
The Altman Z-Score weighs working capital, retained earnings, operating profit, market value and sales against assets and debts to gauge the risk of distress.
1.2 × working capital ÷ total assets + 1.4 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 3.3 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 0.6 × market value of equity ÷ total liabilities + 1.0 × revenue ÷ total assets
More on AZO
- Revenue
- Net income
- EPS (diluted)
- EBITDA
- Free cash flow
- Operating cash flow
- Gross margin
- Operating margin
- Net margin
- Free cash flow margin
- P/E ratio
- P/S ratio
- P/B ratio
- Price to free cash flow
- EV/EBITDA
- EV/Sales
- EV/FCF
- Return on equity
- Return on assets
- Return on invested capital
- Debt to equity
- Current ratio
- Total debt
- Shares outstanding
- Book value per share
- Revenue growth
- The full statement