Snapshot
Alphabet generated $402.8 billion of revenue, $129.0 billion of operating income, and $132.2 billion of net income in FY2025. Diluted EPS was $10.81 in FY2025, on weighted average shares of 12.1 billion shares in FY2025.
In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $119.8 billion, gross profit was $73.9 billion, operating income was $40.8 billion, and net income was $112.2 billion. Diluted EPS was $9.11 in Q2 FY2026, with weighted average shares of 12.2 billion shares in Q2 FY2026. Revenue over the TTM to Q2 FY2026 was $445.9 billion, while net income over the TTM to Q2 FY2026 was $244.2 billion. Market capitalisation was $4.12 trillion as of September 24, 2026.
Growth
Revenue reached $402.8 billion in FY2025, growing 15.1% in FY2025 against FY2024. Revenue’s compound annual growth rate was 12.5% in FY2022–FY2025 and 17.2% in FY2020–FY2025. Diluted EPS was $10.81 in FY2025 and grew 34.5% in FY2025 against FY2024; its compound annual growth rate was 33.3% in FY2022–FY2025.
Free cash flow was $73.3 billion in FY2025, up 0.69% in FY2025 against FY2024, with a 6.88% compound annual growth rate in FY2022–FY2025. In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $119.8 billion, increasing 9.01% against Q1 FY2026 and 24.2% against Q2 FY2025. Diluted EPS was $9.11 in Q2 FY2026, up 78.3% against Q1 FY2026 and 294.4% against Q2 FY2025. Free cash flow was −$5.9 billion in Q2 FY2026.
Profitability
Gross margin was 59.7% in FY2025, an increase of 6.1 percentage points from FY2020 to FY2025. Operating margin was 32.0% in FY2025, up 9.4 percentage points from FY2020 to FY2025, although it changed by −0.1 percentage points from FY2024 to FY2025. Pre-tax margin was 39.4% in FY2025, rising 13.1 percentage points from FY2020 to FY2025, while net margin was 32.8% in FY2025, up 10.7 percentage points over the same period.
Return on equity was 35.7%, return on assets was 25.3%, and return on invested capital was 24.1% in FY2025. In Q2 FY2026, gross margin was 61.6% and operating margin was 34.0%. Industry-median profitability comparisons are not reported.
Balance sheet
Total debt was $46.5 billion in FY2025, compared with $10.9 billion in FY2024. Cash and short-term investments were $126.8 billion in FY2025, compared with $95.7 billion in FY2024. Net debt was −$80.3 billion in FY2025, indicating cash and short-term investments exceeded total debt in FY2025.
Shareholders’ equity was $415.3 billion in FY2025, while working capital was $103.3 billion in FY2025. Book value per share was $34.27 in FY2025. In Q2 FY2026, net debt was −$144.3 billion, compared with −$49.3 billion in Q1 FY2026. The current ratio was 2.7× in Q2 FY2026, and debt to equity was 0.2× in Q2 FY2026.
Cash flow & capital return
Operating cash flow was $164.7 billion in FY2025, growing 31.5% in FY2025 against FY2024. Capital expenditure was $91.4 billion in FY2025, compared with $52.5 billion in FY2024. Free cash flow was $73.3 billion in FY2025, compared with $72.8 billion in FY2024, and represented 55.4% of net income in FY2025.
Dividends paid were $10.0 billion in FY2025, compared with $7.4 billion in FY2024. Net share repurchases were $45.7 billion in FY2025, compared with $62.2 billion in FY2024. Capital returned to shareholders was $55.8 billion in FY2025. Weighted average shares were 12.1 billion shares in FY2025, and the share count changed by −11.0% from FY2020 to FY2025. Free cash flow was −$5.9 billion in Q2 FY2026.
Valuation
The P/E was 16.8× as of September 24, 2026, below the five-year median of 23.9× and the ten-year median of 26.2× as of September 24, 2026. The P/S was 9.2× as of September 24, 2026, above the five-year median of 6.7× and the ten-year median of 6.3× as of September 24, 2026.
The P/B was 6.6× as of September 24, 2026, below the five-year median of 7.2× but above the ten-year median of 5.1× as of September 24, 2026. EV/Sales was 8.9× as of September 24, 2026, above the five-year median of 6.5× and ten-year median of 5.6×. EV/Cash flow was 74.6× as of September 24, 2026, above the five-year median of 27.0× and ten-year median of 26.8×. Industry-median valuation comparisons are not reported.
What changed since last quarter
Revenue was $119.8 billion in Q2 FY2026, increasing 9.01% against Q1 FY2026 and 24.2% against Q2 FY2025. Gross margin was 61.6% in Q2 FY2026, changing by −0.8 percentage points against Q1 FY2026 and by 2.1 percentage points against Q2 FY2025. Operating margin was 34.0% in Q2 FY2026, changing by −2.1 percentage points against Q1 FY2026 and by 1.6 percentage points against Q2 FY2025.
Diluted EPS was $9.11 in Q2 FY2026, rising 78.3% against Q1 FY2026 and 294.4% against Q2 FY2025. Free cash flow was −$5.9 billion in Q2 FY2026, with changes of −157.9% against Q1 FY2026 and −210.5% against Q2 FY2025. No management explanation for these changes is reported.
Open questions
- What factors drove the difference between the increase in operating cash flow and the decline in free cash flow over the trailing twelve months?
- What accounts for the change in net income in the latest reported quarter?
- What uses of cash contributed to the change in net debt in the latest reported quarter?
- What explains the increase in total debt during the latest fiscal year?