Caterpillar Inc. CAT

821.58 16.33 2.03% as of 25 Sep
Market cap
$373.2B
P/E
35.2×
Indexes indicate stock being part of an index,
Growth Flags show if company had growth for consecutive years,
Insider Buys alert about insiders buying in the last 12 month

Caterpillar Inc. (CAT) Financial Analysis

Updated · Covers results through Q2 FY2026 · How this is made

Snapshot

Caterpillar generated $67.6 billion of revenue, $8.9 billion of net income and $18.81 of diluted EPS in FY2025. Revenue growth was 4.29% in FY2025 against FY2024, while net income growth was −17.7% in FY2025 against FY2024.

In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $20.5 billion, gross profit was $7.8 billion, operating income was $4.3 billion and net income was $3.6 billion. Diluted EPS was $7.77 in Q2 FY2026. On a trailing-twelve-month basis to Q2 FY2026, revenue reached $74.7 billion and net income reached $10.8 billion.

Growth

Revenue was $67.6 billion in FY2025, growing 4.29% in FY2025 against FY2024. Revenue compound annual growth was 4.38% in FY2022–FY2025 and 10.1% in FY2020–FY2025. Diluted EPS was $18.81 in FY2025, with growth of −14.7% in FY2025 against FY2024; its compound annual growth was 14.2% in FY2022–FY2025 and 28.1% in FY2020–FY2025.

Free cash flow was $8.2 billion in FY2025, down −14.5% in FY2025 against FY2024. Free cash flow compound annual growth was 10.8% in FY2022–FY2025 and 10.4% in FY2020–FY2025. Revenue was $20.5 billion in Q2 FY2026, up 24.0% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025. Diluted EPS was $7.77 in Q2 FY2026, up 68.2% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, while free cash flow was $3.5 billion in Q2 FY2026, up 47.1% on the same basis.

Profitability

Gross margin was 33.8%, operating margin was 16.5%, pre-tax margin was 17.1% and net margin was 13.1% in FY2025. Over FY2024–FY2025, gross margin changed by −4.2 percentage points, operating margin by −3.7 percentage points, pre-tax margin by −3.6 percentage points and net margin by −3.5 percentage points.

Over FY2020–FY2025, gross margin changed by 3.4 percentage points, operating margin by 5.6 percentage points, pre-tax margin by 7.5 percentage points and net margin by 5.9 percentage points. Return on equity was 43.5%, return on assets was 9.53% and return on invested capital was 12.8% in FY2025. Industry-median comparisons for these margins and returns are not reported.

Balance sheet

Total debt was $43.3 billion, net debt was $33.4 billion and cash and short-term investments were $10.0 billion in FY2025. Shareholders’ equity was $21.3 billion and working capital was $15.9 billion in FY2025.

At Q2 FY2026, net debt was $38.4 billion, compared with $39.0 billion in Q1 FY2026 and $35.3 billion in Q2 FY2025. The current ratio was 1.4× and debt to equity was 2.3× in Q2 FY2026. Book value per share was $45.36 in FY2025.

Cash flow & capital return

Operating cash flow was $11.7 billion, capital expenditure was $3.6 billion and free cash flow was $8.2 billion in FY2025. Free cash flow represented 91.9% of net income in FY2025. Operating cash flow growth was −2.46% in FY2025 against FY2024, while free cash flow growth was −14.5% in FY2025 against FY2024.

Dividends paid were $2.7 billion and net share repurchases were $5.2 billion in FY2025, for $8.0 billion of capital returned to shareholders in FY2025. Capital returned to shareholders totaled $37.3 billion in FY2021–FY2025. Weighted average shares were 470.0 million shares in FY2025, and the share count changed by −13.6% in FY2020–FY2025. In Q2 FY2026, free cash flow was $3.5 billion.

Valuation

Market capitalisation was $370.7 billion as of September 24, 2026. The P/E was 34.5× as of September 24, 2026, higher than the 17.3× five-year median as of September 24, 2026, over the five fiscal years to FY2025; it was 2.0× the five-year median as of September 24, 2026.

The P/S was 5.0× and EV/Sales was 5.5× as of September 24, 2026. P/S was higher than its 2.2× five-year median and 2.2× ten-year median as of September 24, 2026; EV/Sales was higher than its 2.8× five-year median and 2.7× ten-year median as of September 24, 2026. P/B was 19.1× as of September 24, 2026, higher than its 7.9× five-year median and 6.8× ten-year median as of September 24, 2026. Industry-median valuation comparisons are not reported.

What changed since last quarter

Revenue was $20.5 billion in Q2 FY2026, compared with $17.4 billion in Q1 FY2026, a change of 18.0% in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026. Diluted EPS was $7.77 in Q2 FY2026, compared with $5.47 in Q1 FY2026, a change of 42.0% on that basis. Free cash flow was $3.5 billion in Q2 FY2026, compared with $1.0 billion in Q1 FY2026, a change of 247.0% on that basis.

Against Q2 FY2025, Q2 FY2026 revenue changed by 24.0%, diluted EPS changed by 68.2% and free cash flow changed by 47.1%. Gross margin was 37.8% and operating margin was 20.9% in Q2 FY2026, with changes of 3.0 percentage points and 3.6 percentage points, respectively, against Q2 FY2025. No management explanation for the changes is reported.

Open questions

  • What factors drove the change in revenue between Q2 FY2025 and Q2 FY2026?
  • What caused the changes in gross margin and operating margin in Q2 FY2026?
  • What accounts for the increase in net debt from Q2 FY2025 to Q2 FY2026?
  • How are capital expenditure and capital returns expected to be funded?

This page is for information only. It is not investment advice, a recommendation or an offer to buy or sell any security. Figures may contain errors; verify against the company's filings.