Bank of America Corporation BAC

56.70 0.67 1.20% as of 25 Sep
Market cap
$392.9B
P/E
12.9×
Indexes indicate stock being part of an index,
Growth Flags show if company had growth for consecutive years

Bank of America Corporation (BAC) Financial Analysis

Updated · Covers results through Q2 FY2026 · How this is made

Snapshot

Bank of America had a market capitalisation of $400.7 billion as of September 24, 2026. Revenue was $191.6 billion, operating income was $37.7 billion, and net income was $30.5 billion in FY2025. Diluted EPS was $3.81 in FY2025, with weighted average shares of 7.5 billion shares in FY2025.

In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $49.4 billion, gross profit was $31.6 billion, operating income was $11.6 billion, and net income was $9.1 billion. Diluted EPS was $1.21 in Q2 FY2026. Over the trailing twelve months to Q2 FY2026, revenue was $193.3 billion and net income was $33.6 billion.

Growth

Revenue was $191.6 billion in FY2025, a change of −2.46% in FY2025 against FY2024. Revenue compound annual growth was 18.5% over FY2022–FY2025 and 15.4% over FY2020–FY2025. Net income was $30.5 billion in FY2025 and grew 13.1% in FY2025 against FY2024. Diluted EPS was $3.81 in FY2025, increasing 18.7% in FY2025 against FY2024; its compound annual growth was 6.10% over FY2022–FY2025.

Free cash flow was $12.6 billion in FY2025, and its growth was not meaningful in FY2025 against FY2024 because the earlier value was zero or negative. In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $49.4 billion, up 3.15% against Q1 FY2026 and 3.67% against Q2 FY2025. Diluted EPS was $1.21 in Q2 FY2026, up 9.01% against Q1 FY2026 and 36.0% against Q2 FY2025.

Profitability

Gross margin was 59.0% in FY2025, an increase of 5.1 percentage points over FY2024–FY2025, but a change of −32.2 percentage points over FY2020–FY2025. Operating margin was 19.7% in FY2025, increasing by 2.8 percentage points over FY2024–FY2025 and changing by −0.6 percentage points over FY2020–FY2025. Net margin was 15.9% in FY2025, up 2.2 percentage points over FY2024–FY2025 and down 3.2 percentage points over FY2020–FY2025.

Return on equity was 10.6% in FY2025, compared with 9.49% in FY2024. Return on assets was 0.87% in FY2025, compared with 0.79% in FY2024. In Q2 FY2026, gross margin was 63.9% and operating margin was 23.4%. No industry-median profitability measures are reported.

Balance sheet

Total debt was $317.8 billion in FY2025, compared with $283.3 billion in FY2024. Cash and short-term investments were $922.9 billion in FY2025, compared with $885.7 billion in FY2024. Net debt was −$605.0 billion in FY2025 and −$670.5 billion in Q2 FY2026. Shareholders’ equity was $303.2 billion in FY2025, while book value per share was $40.31 in FY2025.

The current ratio was 0.8× in Q2 FY2026, and debt to equity was 1.1× in Q2 FY2026. Working capital was −$549.9 billion in FY2025. The Q2 FY2026 net-debt figure was $454.0 million higher against Q2 FY2025 and $894.0 million higher against Q1 FY2026.

Cash flow & capital return

Operating cash flow was $12.6 billion in FY2025, following −$8.8 billion in FY2024. Free cash flow was $12.6 billion in FY2025, following −$8.8 billion in FY2024, and represented 41.3% of net income in FY2025. Over the trailing twelve months to Q2 FY2026, operating cash flow and free cash flow were each $94.7 billion. Capital expenditures are not reported.

Dividends paid were $9.6 billion in FY2025, and net share repurchases were $18.6 billion in FY2025. Capital returned to shareholders was $28.2 billion in FY2025 and $112.6 billion over FY2021–FY2025. Weighted average shares were 7.5 billion shares in FY2025, a change of −14.1% over FY2020–FY2025. In Q2 FY2026, weighted average shares were 7.2 billion shares, down −5.67% against Q2 FY2025.

Valuation

The P/E was 12.7× as of September 24, 2026, higher than the five-year median of 12.4× as of September 24, 2026, over the five fiscal years to FY2025, and lower than the ten-year median of 13.1× as of September 24, 2026, over the ten fiscal years to FY2025. The P/S was 2.1× as of September 24, 2026, lower than the five-year median of 2.2× and the ten-year median of 2.4× as of September 24, 2026.

The P/B was 1.5× as of September 24, 2026, higher than the five-year median of 1.3× and the ten-year median of 1.2× as of September 24, 2026. No industry-median valuation multiples are reported. EV/Sales and EV/Cash flow were not meaningful as of September 24, 2026 because earnings or book value were negative.

What changed since last quarter

Revenue was $49.4 billion in Q2 FY2026, up 3.15% against Q1 FY2026 and 3.67% against Q2 FY2025. Net income was $9.1 billion in Q2 FY2026, compared with $8.6 billion in Q1 FY2026 and $7.2 billion in Q2 FY2025. Diluted EPS was $1.21 in Q2 FY2026, up 9.01% against Q1 FY2026 and 36.0% against Q2 FY2025.

Gross margin was 63.9% in Q2 FY2026, increasing 0.7 percentage points against Q1 FY2026 and 6.3 percentage points against Q2 FY2025. Operating margin was 23.4% in Q2 FY2026, increasing 1.7 percentage points against Q1 FY2026 and 5.2 percentage points against Q2 FY2025. Free cash flow was $29.0 billion in Q2 FY2026, down −30.5% against Q1 FY2026; the change against Q2 FY2025 was not meaningful because the earlier value was zero or negative. Management’s reasons for these changes are not reported.

Open questions

  • What factors drove the decline in revenue in FY2025 while net income increased?
  • What explains the variation in free cash flow across recent quarters?
  • What drove the increase in total debt between FY2024 and FY2025?
  • What factors contributed to the changes in gross and operating margins in Q2 FY2026?

This page is for information only. It is not investment advice, a recommendation or an offer to buy or sell any security. Figures may contain errors; verify against the company's filings.