Snapshot
AMD reported revenue of $34.6 billion, gross profit of $17.2 billion, operating income of $3.7 billion and net income of $4.3 billion in FY2025. Diluted EPS was $2.65 and free cash flow was $6.7 billion in FY2025. Market capitalisation was $1.03 trillion as of September 24, 2026.
In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $11.5 billion, gross profit was $6.2 billion and operating income was $2.0 billion. Net income was $2.3 billion, diluted EPS was $1.38 and free cash flow was $1.6 billion in Q2 FY2026. Net debt was −$9.9 billion in Q2 FY2026, indicating cash and short-term investments exceeded total debt under this measure.
Growth
Revenue increased 34.3% in FY2025 against FY2024 to $34.6 billion in FY2025. Revenue compound annual growth was 13.6% over FY2022–FY2025 and 28.8% over FY2020–FY2025. Diluted EPS increased 165.0% in FY2025 against FY2024 to $2.65 in FY2025, while its compound annual growth was 46.7% over FY2022–FY2025.
Free cash flow increased 178.5% in FY2025 against FY2024 to $6.7 billion in FY2025, with compound annual growth of 29.1% over FY2022–FY2025. Revenue was $11.5 billion in Q2 FY2026, up 12.5% in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026 and 50.1% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025. Diluted EPS was $1.38 in Q2 FY2026, up 64.3% sequentially and 155.6% from a year earlier.
Profitability
Gross margin was 49.5% in FY2025, a 0.2 percentage point increase over FY2024–FY2025 and a 5.0 percentage point increase over FY2020–FY2025. Operating margin was 10.7% in FY2025, up 3.3 percentage points over FY2024–FY2025 but down −3.4 percentage points over FY2020–FY2025. Net margin was 12.5% in FY2025, up 6.2 percentage points over FY2024–FY2025 but down −13.0 percentage points over FY2020–FY2025.
Return on equity was 7.19%, return on assets was 5.93% and return on invested capital was 4.15% in FY2025. Each return measure was higher in FY2025 than in FY2024, but lower than in FY2021. Gross margin was 53.8% and operating margin was 17.3% in Q2 FY2026. Industry-median comparisons are not reported.
Balance sheet
Net debt was −$9.9 billion in Q2 FY2026, compared with −$9.1 billion in Q1 FY2026 and −$2.6 billion in Q2 FY2025. The quarter-over-quarter net-debt change was −$762.0 million in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026. The year-over-year net-debt change was −$7.2 billion in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025.
The current ratio was 2.6× and debt to equity was 0.0× in Q2 FY2026. At FY2025 year-end, total debt was $3.2 billion, cash and short-term investments were $10.6 billion and shareholders’ equity was $63.0 billion. Working capital was $17.5 billion and book value per share was $38.79 in FY2025. Cash and short-term investments exceeded total debt in FY2025.
Cash flow & capital return
Operating cash flow was $7.7 billion in FY2025, an increase of 153.5% in FY2025 against FY2024. Capital expenditure was $1.0 billion and free cash flow was $6.7 billion in FY2025. Free cash flow represented 154.5% of net income in FY2025. Operating cash flow was $10.1 billion and free cash flow was $8.4 billion in TTM to Q2 FY2026.
Free cash flow was $1.6 billion in Q2 FY2026, down −39.3% in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026 and down −8.73% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025. Net share repurchases were $1.0 billion in FY2025. Weighted average shares were 1.6 billion shares in FY2025 and 1.6 billion shares in Q2 FY2026; the share count changed 37.2% over FY2020–FY2025. A dividend figure is not reported.
Valuation
As of September 24, 2026, P/E was 159×, compared with the five-year median of 80.2× over the five fiscal years to FY2025; the current multiple was 2.0× the median. P/S was 24.9× as of September 24, 2026, compared with 9.9× over the five fiscal years to FY2025 and 7.5× over the ten fiscal years to FY2025. The current P/S was 2.5× the five-year median and 3.3× the ten-year median as of September 24, 2026.
EV/Sales was 24.6× as of September 24, 2026, compared with 9.7× over the five fiscal years to FY2025 and 7.4× over the ten fiscal years to FY2025. P/B was 15.3× as of September 24, 2026, higher than the five-year median of 4.0× but below the ten-year median of 15.9×. Industry-median valuation comparisons are not reported.
What changed since last quarter
Revenue rose 12.5% in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, reaching $11.5 billion in Q2 FY2026. Diluted EPS increased 64.3% in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026 to $1.38 in Q2 FY2026. Gross margin increased 0.9 percentage points and operating margin increased 2.9 percentage points in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026. Free cash flow declined −39.3% in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026 to $1.6 billion in Q2 FY2026.
Against Q2 FY2025, revenue increased 50.1%, diluted EPS increased 155.6%, gross margin increased 14.0 percentage points and operating margin increased 19.0 percentage points in Q2 FY2026. Free cash flow declined −8.73% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025. No management explanation for these changes is reported.
Open questions
- What factors drove the change in free cash flow in the latest quarter?
- What accounts for the movement in gross and operating margins between recent quarters?
- How are operating cash flow and capital expenditure distributed across the business?
- What explains the change in weighted average shares over the longer period?