Snapshot
Alphabet generated revenue of $402.8 billion in FY2025, operating income of $129.0 billion in FY2025 and net income of $132.2 billion in FY2025. Revenue growth was 15.1% in FY2025 against FY2024, while diluted EPS growth was 34.5% in FY2025 against FY2024.
In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $119.8 billion, gross profit was $73.9 billion, operating income was $40.8 billion and net income was $112.2 billion. Diluted EPS was $9.11 in Q2 FY2026, while free cash flow was −$5.9 billion in Q2 FY2026. Revenue over the TTM to Q2 FY2026 was $445.9 billion, and net income over the TTM to Q2 FY2026 was $244.2 billion.
Growth
Revenue was $402.8 billion in FY2025, compared with $350.0 billion in FY2024, and revenue growth was 15.1% in FY2025 against FY2024. Revenue compound annual growth was 12.5% in FY2022–FY2025 and 17.2% in FY2020–FY2025. Diluted EPS was $10.81 in FY2025, compared with $8.04 in FY2024, with growth of 34.5% in FY2025 against FY2024.
- Diluted EPS compound annual growth was 33.3% in FY2022–FY2025 and 29.8% in FY2020–FY2025.
- Free cash flow was $73.3 billion in FY2025, with growth of 0.69% in FY2025 against FY2024; its compound annual growth was 6.88% in FY2022–FY2025 and 11.3% in FY2020–FY2025.
- Revenue was $119.8 billion in Q2 FY2026, up 24.2% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, while diluted EPS was $9.11 in Q2 FY2026, up 294.4% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025.
Profitability
Gross margin was 59.7% in FY2025, an increase of 1.5 percentage points in FY2024–FY2025 and 6.1 percentage points in FY2020–FY2025. Operating margin was 32.0% in FY2025, down −0.1 percentage points in FY2024–FY2025 but up 9.4 percentage points in FY2020–FY2025. Pre-tax margin was 39.4% in FY2025, up 5.2 percentage points in FY2024–FY2025 and 13.1 percentage points in FY2020–FY2025.
Net margin was 32.8% in FY2025, up 4.2 percentage points in FY2024–FY2025 and 10.7 percentage points in FY2020–FY2025. Return on equity was 35.7% in FY2025, return on assets was 25.3% in FY2025 and return on invested capital was 24.1% in FY2025. Industry-median comparisons are not reported.
Balance sheet
Cash and short-term investments were $126.8 billion in FY2025, compared with total debt of $46.5 billion in FY2025. Net debt was −$80.3 billion in FY2025, indicating that cash and short-term investments exceeded total debt in FY2025. Shareholders’ equity was $415.3 billion in FY2025, and working capital was $103.3 billion in FY2025.
In Q2 FY2026, net debt was −$144.3 billion, the current ratio was 2.7× and debt to equity was 0.2×. Net debt was −$49.3 billion in Q1 FY2026, so the negative net-debt balance was larger in Q2 FY2026 than in Q1 FY2026. The available figures do not report cash, total debt, equity or working capital for Q2 FY2026.
Cash flow & capital return
Operating cash flow was $164.7 billion in FY2025, up 31.5% in FY2025 against FY2024. Capital expenditure was $91.4 billion in FY2025, compared with $52.5 billion in FY2024. Free cash flow was $73.3 billion in FY2025, up 0.69% in FY2025 against FY2024, and represented 55.4% of net income in FY2025.
- Dividends paid were $10.0 billion in FY2025, and net share repurchases were $45.7 billion in FY2025.
- Capital returned to shareholders was $55.8 billion in FY2025.
- Weighted average shares were 12.1 billion shares in FY2025, and the share count changed by −11.0% in FY2020–FY2025.
- Operating cash flow was $185.7 billion over the TTM to Q2 FY2026, while free cash flow was $53.3 billion over the TTM to Q2 FY2026.
Valuation
Market capitalisation was $4.16 trillion as of September 24, 2026. P/E was 17.0× as of September 24, 2026, below the five-year median of 23.6× as of September 24, 2026, over the five fiscal years to FY2025 and the ten-year median of 26.2× as of September 24, 2026, over the ten fiscal years to FY2025. P/S was 9.3× as of September 24, 2026, above the five-year median of 6.7× as of September 24, 2026, over the five fiscal years to FY2025 and the ten-year median of 6.3× as of September 24, 2026, over the ten fiscal years to FY2025.
- P/B was 6.7× as of September 24, 2026, below its five-year median and above its ten-year median.
- EV/Sales was 9.0× as of September 24, 2026, above both historical medians, while EV/Cash flow was 75.4× as of September 24, 2026, above both historical medians.
- Industry-median valuation comparisons are not reported.
What changed since last quarter
Revenue was $119.8 billion in Q2 FY2026, compared with $109.9 billion in Q1 FY2026, a change of 9.01% in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026. Diluted EPS was $9.11 in Q2 FY2026, compared with $5.11 in Q1 FY2026, a change of 78.3% in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026. Gross margin was 61.6% in Q2 FY2026, down −0.8 percentage points in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, and operating margin was 34.0% in Q2 FY2026, down −2.1 percentage points in Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026.
Against Q2 FY2025, revenue changed 24.2% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025 and diluted EPS changed 294.4% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025. Free cash flow was −$5.9 billion in Q2 FY2026, with a change of −210.5% in Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025. No management explanation for these changes is reported.
Open questions
- What caused net income and diluted EPS to change more than revenue in the latest quarter?
- What drove the negative free cash flow reported in the latest quarter?
- What accounts for the change in net debt between the two most recent quarters?
- Which operating factors contributed to the latest-quarter margin movements?