Snapshot
Berkshire Hathaway generated revenue of $371.4 billion in FY2025, the same level as FY2024, and reported net income of $67.3 billion in FY2025. Diluted EPS was $31.04 in FY2025, while free cash flow was $25.0 billion in FY2025.
In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $101.8 billion, gross profit was $81.5 billion, operating income was $34.3 billion, and net income was $25.8 billion. Diluted EPS was $11.91 in Q2 FY2026. As of September 24, 2026, market capitalisation was $1.09 trillion.
Growth
Revenue was $371.4 billion in FY2025, with revenue growth of 0.00% in FY2025 against FY2024. Revenue compound annual growth was 7.14% in FY2022–FY2025 and 8.63% in FY2020–FY2025. Diluted EPS was $31.04 in FY2025, down −24.8% in FY2025 against FY2024; its five-year compound annual growth was 11.8% in FY2020–FY2025.
Free cash flow was $25.0 billion in FY2025, up 115.6% in FY2025 against FY2024. In Q2 FY2026, revenue was $101.8 billion, up 10.0% against Q2 FY2025, while diluted EPS was $11.91, up 107.9% against Q2 FY2025. Free cash flow was $5.6 billion in Q2 FY2026, up 6.56% against Q2 FY2025.
Profitability
Gross margin was 78.6% in FY2025, a change of −0.7 percentage points in FY2024–FY2025 and an increase of 4.1 percentage points in FY2020–FY2025. Operating margin was 27.3% in FY2025, declining by −4.5 percentage points in FY2024–FY2025 and by −3.1 percentage points in FY2020–FY2025. Net margin was 18.1% in FY2025, declining by −6.0 percentage points in FY2024–FY2025 while remaining 0.5 percentage points above FY2020.
Return on equity was 9.77% in FY2025, return on assets was 5.64% in FY2025, and return on invested capital was 7.94% in FY2025. Each was below its FY2024 level. Industry-median profitability comparisons are not reported.
Balance sheet
Total debt was $129.1 billion in FY2025, compared with $124.8 billion in FY2024. Cash and short-term investments were $51.9 billion in FY2025, compared with $47.7 billion in FY2024. Net debt was $77.2 billion in FY2025, broadly similar to $77.0 billion in FY2024.
Shareholders’ equity was $719.7 billion in FY2025, above $651.7 billion in FY2024, and book value per share was $333.39 in FY2025. Working capital was −$256.9 billion in FY2025. At Q2 FY2026, the current ratio was 0.3× and debt to equity was 0.2×. Net debt was $88.0 billion in Q2 FY2026.
Cash flow & capital return
Operating cash flow was $46.0 billion in FY2025, up 50.3% in FY2025 against FY2024. Capital expenditure was $20.9 billion in FY2025, compared with $19.0 billion in FY2024. Free cash flow was $25.0 billion in FY2025, up 115.6% in FY2025 against FY2024, and represented 37.2% of net income in FY2025.
Net share repurchases were $2.9 billion in FY2024. Weighted average shares were 2.2 billion shares in FY2025, unchanged from FY2024, and the share count changed by −9.80% in FY2020–FY2025. Dividend figures are not reported.
Valuation
As of September 24, 2026, P/E was 12.7×, above the five-year median of 11.0× over the five fiscal years to FY2025; the relative multiple was 1.2× as of September 24, 2026. P/S was 2.8× as of September 24, 2026, above the five-year median of 2.5× and ten-year median of 2.2× over the respective fiscal-year periods to FY2025.
P/B was 1.5× as of September 24, 2026, above the five-year and ten-year medians of 1.4× over the respective fiscal-year periods to FY2025. EV/Cash flow was 48.6× as of September 24, 2026, above the five-year median of 35.2× and ten-year median of 26.6×. Industry-median valuation comparisons are not reported.
What changed since last quarter
Revenue was $101.8 billion in Q2 FY2026, increasing 8.68% against Q1 FY2026 and 10.0% against Q2 FY2025. Diluted EPS was $11.91 in Q2 FY2026, increasing 154.5% against Q1 FY2026 and 107.9% against Q2 FY2025. Free cash flow was $5.6 billion in Q2 FY2026, increasing 2.16% against Q1 FY2026 and 6.56% against Q2 FY2025.
Gross margin was 80.1% in Q2 FY2026, up 1.1 percentage points against Q1 FY2026 and 1.3 percentage points against Q2 FY2025. Operating margin was 33.7% in Q2 FY2026, up 18.5 percentage points against Q1 FY2026 and 10.1 percentage points against Q2 FY2025. Net debt was $88.0 billion in Q2 FY2026.
Open questions
- What factors drove the change in net debt during the latest quarter?
- What explains the movements in operating income and net income between quarters?
- How are capital expenditure and free cash flow distributed across the company’s operations?
- What factors account for the changes in profitability measures over recent years?