Acuity, Inc.
AYI Industrials Electrical Equipment & Parts
Acuity, Inc.’s revenue for fiscal 2026 (year ended August 2026) was $4.6 billion, up 6.82% from fiscal 2025. In the quarter to August 2026, revenue grew 2.92%, EPS grew 55.6%, free cash flow grew 61.1% and total debt fell 22.2%, each against the same quarter a year earlier. Dividend growth for ten consecutive years; insiders bought in the last twelve months.
Follow AYI
Acuity, Inc. (AYI) Altman Z-score
Acuity, Inc.'s Altman Z-score for fiscal 2026 cannot be worked out: retained earnings not reported.
Altman Z-score, annual
Embed this chart
Annual newest first
| Period | Altman Z-score | Change (points) |
|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 5.75 | (0.83) |
| FY2024 | 6.58 | 1.03 |
| FY2023 | 5.55 | 0.24 |
| FY2022 | 5.31 | (0.07) |
| FY2021 | 5.37 | 0.90 |
| FY2020 | 4.48 | (0.88) |
| FY2019 | 5.36 | (0.48) |
| FY2018 | 5.84 | (0.75) |
| FY2017 | 6.58 | (1.55) |
| FY2016 | 8.13 | 0.60 |
How fiscal 2026’s score is made up
| Component | This year | Year before | Result | Points |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Working capital / total assets | 0.16 | — | 0.19 | |
| Retained earnings / total assets | — | — | n/a | — |
| EBIT / total assets | 0.15 | — | 0.48 | |
| Market value of equity / total liabilities | 5.31 | — | 3.18 | |
| Sales / total assets | 0.95 | — | 0.95 | |
| Altman Z-score | n/a — retained earnings not reported | — | ||
| Z″ Variant for non-manufacturing and asset-light companies (drops the sales/assets term, uses book equity) | n/a — retained earnings not reported | — | ||
How the Altman Z-score works
Z = 1.2 × working capital ÷ total assets + 1.4 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 3.3 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 0.6 × market value of equity ÷ total liabilities + 1.0 × revenue ÷ total assets (Altman, 1968). The market value of equity is the close on the last trading day of the fiscal year times weighted basic shares.
Z″ = 6.56 × working capital ÷ total assets + 3.26 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 6.72 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 1.05 × book equity ÷ total liabilities (Altman, Hartzell and Peck, 1995), the variant for non-manufacturing and asset-light companies.
| Zone | Z | Z″ |
|---|---|---|
| Safe zone | above 2.99 | above 2.60 |
| Grey zone | 1.81–2.99 | 1.10–2.60 |
| Distress zone | below 1.81 | below 1.10 |
Not worked out for banks, insurers and REITs, whose balance sheets the model does not describe, nor when a figure is missing or there is no share price in the week to the fiscal year end.
Altman Z-score against peers
| Company | Altman Z-score |
|---|---|
| POWL Powell Industries, Inc. compare | 7.7× |
| AEIS Advanced Energy Industries, Inc. compare | 5.8× |
| HUBB Hubbell Inc compare | 5.3× |
| ENS Enersys compare | 4.5× |
| NVT nVent Electric PLC compare | 4.5× |
| ATKR Atkore Inc. compare | 2.8× |
| HAYW Hayward Holdings, Inc. compare | 2.5× |
| PLUG Plug Power, Inc. compare | −4.8× |
| AYI Acuity, Inc. | — |
What Altman Z-score is
The Altman Z-Score weighs working capital, retained earnings, operating profit, market value and sales against assets and debts to gauge the risk of distress.
1.2 × working capital ÷ total assets + 1.4 × retained earnings ÷ total assets + 3.3 × EBIT ÷ total assets + 0.6 × market value of equity ÷ total liabilities + 1.0 × revenue ÷ total assets